Founder Profile

Krishna M. Ella Ph. D.
CMD, Bharat Biotech.

Dr. Krishna M. Ella Dr. Krishna Ella is the Chairman & Managing Director of Bharat Biotech International Limited.

After early education in Agricultural Sciences, Dr. Ella studied at the University of Hawaii and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Following a brief stint as a research faculty at the Medical University of South Carolina-Charleston, he returned to India and set up Bharat Biotech International Limited, a multidimensional biotechnology company specializing in R&D, manufacturing and marketing of vaccines and biotherapeutics for human use. Today, Bharat Biotech is one of the leading innovative R&D Companies, with 45 global patents, of which 5 are for new molecules. Bharat Biotech has been funded (>300 crores) by various agencies like DBT, CSIR, DST and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Dr. Ella is an accomplished scientist with expertise in gene knock-out and expression systems. As an entrepreneur with over two decades of experience in product development and manufacturing, he has recently ventured into other areas like veterinary vaccines (Biovet), food processing (Innova Agri Bio), functional foods (Century Biologicals), contract research services (RCC Labs) and developing biotechnology infrastructure (Konark Bio Park).

He has received several awards for his academic recognitions like the Rotary Fellowship, and the National Research Service Award of the National Institute of Health, U.S.A. Further, he has been honoured for his entrepreneurial skills with awards such as, J.R.D. TATA – Best Entrepreneur of the Year and Marico Innovation award received from the Prime Minister of India, among several others.

Dr. Ella is also involved in shaping India’s science education and policy as well as International collaboration by being a Member, Advisor or Chairman of numerous committees. The prominent ones among these include Five Year Plan for Biotechnology, Human Resource and Innovation, National Biotech Policy, High Technology Cooperation Groups, National Task Force in Industrial Biotechnology, National Council of IPR. He has recently been nominated as a Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Prime Minister of India.